I think it would be well, and proper, and obedient, and pure, to grasp your one necessity and not let it go, to dangle from it limp wherever it takes you.
-- Annie Dillard

I am a writer.

After six years behind a desk in an insurance office, I took a leap of faith, hoping that with time, dedication, and the support of my husband I could achieve my lifelong dream of writing for a living.

Our move to Norway in 2011 accomplished many things. It gave us the chance to see the world from a different perspective; it allowed us to travel more frequently and easily to exciting European destinations; it put us in contact with some of the most fun, adventurous, talented people I've ever known. But best of all, it inspired my writing life, giving me the time and energy to do it again.

This blog began in 2005 as an outlet for my creative energy. Reading those early posts over now makes me cringe. I didn't know what I was doing. Opening my mouth and letting the words fly out, certainly, but without any method or goal. That said, what I love about the blog now is the way it maps so accurately the trajectory of my life with words. I can see my personal evolution, in mind, body, and spirit. As well, the blog serves as a journal and travelogue.

Today, I'm a student again. Yes, I work part time as a writer, editor and web and social media consultant, but I'm also persuing a second master's degree, this time at the University of Oslo. I never expected to be a perpetual student, and there are times that even I think all I'm doing is chronically over-educating myself. But then again, writing remains the biggest and best part of my life, so it must be right.

Jonathan and I still wander and explore our new city, new country, and new language together. I'm so glad that, after almost four years, The Girl Behind the Red Door has become a resource for others living or wanting to live in Oslo. I've used it to meet some wonderful friends here, too. Along with sharing the life and mistakes and lessons of a first-time expat, giving others access to this beautiful Nordic country, I continue to write about writing, marriage, travel, feminism, faith, running, and family.

So who am I? A California girl in Oslo. A wife. An avid reader. A former volleyball player and coach. A feminist. A dog person who owns (and deeply loves) a cat. A Christian constantly redefining her own brand of faith. A citizen of the world. An optimist. A loudmouth. A climber. A traveler. An expat. But most of all these days, I'm a writer. And soon, I'll be adding mother to this list, as well.